.

Help! Cant Connect To Wireless for Vistas

<<

birdmanjr

Newbie
Newbie

Posts: 1

Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2008 4:11 am

Post Mon Jan 14, 2008 4:17 am

Help! Cant Connect To Wireless for Vistas

I have windows vista, and i have a wireless intel Pro/ wireless 3945ABG Network Connection adapter. I used to be able to connect to this wireless network all the time called linksys, Then it stopped working, Gave me this error saying "The settings saved on this computer for the network do not match the requirements of the network"

Im not sure if this person added security to his network or if its a setting i have to change on my pc, Please help me and tell me the problem, and let me know if i can fix it,

This persons internet network connection called linksys always said unsecured, and i was able to connect to it

I dont use any type of router, just the internet wireless card thats built in my laptop. Please help
<<

g00d_4sh

User avatar

Sr. Member
Sr. Member

Posts: 394

Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2007 1:50 pm

Location: Guayaquil, Ecuador

Post Mon Jan 14, 2008 11:49 am

Re: Help! Cant Connect To Wireless for Vistas

Heh, well couple of quick questions.

#1.  Do you know this person who owns the wireless network you've been connecting through? 

#2.  Do you have permission to use their access point?

If the answer to the first and second question are true, just ask the person.  If neither of the questions has an answer of 'yes'... then I would suggest you either purchase your own internet connection, or you head to the Starbucks. 

I've not personally tried wireless connections under Vista.  I wiped vista after less than a day of it being on my lappy.  If it's anything like XP or most other wireless connection gui's though, it will state if the target AP has encryption or not.  If it is encrypted, that's a 'don't tresspass' sign, so I would stay off the lawn or get shot. :P
"Bad.. Good?  I'm the guy with the gun"
<<

geekyone

User avatar

Full Member
Full Member

Posts: 180

Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2007 12:45 pm

Location: Peoria, IL

Post Mon Jan 14, 2008 5:59 pm

Re: Help! Cant Connect To Wireless for Vistas

Yeah, it certainly sounds like they have added security.  I would follow g00d_4sh's advice.
CISSP, CEH, GPEN, GCIH, GCFA
<<

LSOChris

Post Mon Jan 14, 2008 10:40 pm

Re: Help! Cant Connect To Wireless for Vistas

i can help...

put laptop down

get off couch

walk out side

knock on neighbor's door with "linksys" WAP

ask politely to use his WAP because you cant afford your own

if he tells you to go pound sand, go check out my cracking wep post...
<<

don

User avatar

Administrator
Administrator

Posts: 4226

Joined: Sun Aug 28, 2005 10:47 pm

Location: Chicago

Post Tue Jan 15, 2008 1:29 am

Re: Help! Cant Connect To Wireless for Vistas

lol

8)

Don
CISSP, MCSE, CSTA, Security+ SME
<<

Kev

Sr. Member
Sr. Member

Posts: 428

Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2007 12:26 pm

Post Tue Jan 15, 2008 4:58 am

Re: Help! Cant Connect To Wireless for Vistas

sweet!
<<

LSOChris

Post Tue Jan 15, 2008 6:44 am

Re: Help! Cant Connect To Wireless for Vistas

not that i condone hacking your neighbor's WEP without permission.

but hey, some day my life might depend on my ability to crack WEP, so i figure i better practice...
<<

g00d_4sh

User avatar

Sr. Member
Sr. Member

Posts: 394

Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2007 1:50 pm

Location: Guayaquil, Ecuador

Post Tue Jan 15, 2008 12:01 pm

Re: Help! Cant Connect To Wireless for Vistas

Hehehe.... naughty.
"Bad.. Good?  I'm the guy with the gun"

Return to Other

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron
.
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group.
Designed by ST Software