.

bypass admin access for software installations

<<

manju_salian

User avatar

Jr. Member
Jr. Member

Posts: 89

Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2007 1:31 am

Post Fri Sep 28, 2007 10:44 pm

bypass admin access for software installations

Hi,
Is there any way to install the software without adding user to admin group in windows XP/2000
<<

linuxstarved

EH-Net Columnist
EH-Net Columnist

Posts: 49

Joined: Sat Sep 23, 2006 9:55 am

Post Fri Sep 28, 2007 10:57 pm

Re: bypass admin access for software installations

Hack_80,

The easiest way is to right click the program, select 'run as' click 'run', click 'the following user' radial button then enter the username and password for administrator.  Off you go.

Also, you can make a user a 'power user' and meet most applications requirements without making a user a local admin, but beware that a power user can make themselves an admin. 

Never give a user more rights than they need to get their job done; unless you absolutely (read:someone that can end your employment) have to.
<<

manju_salian

User avatar

Jr. Member
Jr. Member

Posts: 89

Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2007 1:31 am

Post Sat Sep 29, 2007 12:56 am

Re: bypass admin access for software installations

I tried with same but it can be applicable for restricted installations. There is a chance of misuse.
I wanted user to install the required applications but not unwanted freewares.
Any suggestions??
<<

linuxstarved

EH-Net Columnist
EH-Net Columnist

Posts: 49

Joined: Sat Sep 23, 2006 9:55 am

Post Sat Sep 29, 2007 6:47 am

Re: bypass admin access for software installations

Why do you want to do that? In my experience users will always try to take advantage of the situation.  Yes, you could create a group policy that allows users to d/l and install certain apps on their own; but that is a lot of work and once you start you will never stop. 

If manually installing it (remotely with vnc) is not an option, take the .exe file and create an msi (good explanation here http://www.mcse.ms/message948078.html), then push it to the users when they log in using a kixscript www.kixtart.org/.&nbsp; After authenticating to the network, the user logs in, the package will be installed and least privilege is still maintained. 

Once you have the initial leg work done, you will have a managable system for deploying anything; without giving up an ounce of control to the users.
<<

squidmaster

Newbie
Newbie

Posts: 21

Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2007 4:58 pm

Post Sun Oct 07, 2007 12:20 pm

Re: bypass admin access for software installations

boot into safemode.
make a new user
(I always make one called cheese.)
<<

morpheus063

User avatar

Sr. Member
Sr. Member

Posts: 393

Joined: Sun Jun 25, 2006 10:08 am

Location: Cochin - India

Post Sun Oct 07, 2007 9:05 pm

Re: bypass admin access for software installations

squidmaster wrote:boot into safemode.
make a new user
(I always make one called cheese.)


What this will do? Do you think this is the right solution?
Manu Zacharia
MVP (Enterprise Security), ISLA-2010 (ISC)², C|EH, C|HFI, CCNA, MCP,
Certified ISO 27001:2005 Lead Auditor

[b]There are 3 roads to spoil; women, gambling & hacking. The most pleasant with women, the quickest with gambling, but the surest is hacking - c0c0n
<<

termight

User avatar

Newbie
Newbie

Posts: 26

Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2007 5:50 pm

Location: MARS

Post Mon Oct 08, 2007 6:24 am

Re: bypass admin access for software installations

i second what Rich M said. If you are the administrator or the machine you can use group policy to restrict users from running a particular software.
go RUN------>pgedit.msc------>user settings------>software restrictions.

any prob you encounter let me know

NB: i don't want to beleive that in another way you are the user trying to by pass the administrator


perry
>>There Is Always A Blind Spot In
>>Every Software, It's Up To Us To Find It
<<

squidmaster

Newbie
Newbie

Posts: 21

Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2007 4:58 pm

Post Mon Oct 08, 2007 3:44 pm

Re: bypass admin access for software installations

Manu Zacharia - aka - The Morpheus wrote:
squidmaster wrote:boot into safemode.
make a new user
(I always make one called cheese.)


What this will do? Do you think this is the right solution?


This will allow you to make an admin user. This will solve the solution because now you have an admin account.

Return to Network Pen Testing

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron
.
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group.
Designed by ST Software