Bypassing ftp password

<<

maksimu

Post Tue Sep 11, 2007 11:39 am

Bypassing ftp password

Hi, I'm new in hacking. Actually I'm not a hacker I'm just taking security course in college and professor told us "If we can hack he's server and gain root access and add user then we'll get A in that class and don't have to show up anymore". :-\

So, can any body help me to figure out how to do that or just give me some suggestions about that.

I used NMap to scan he's IP and only FTP, SSH and HTTP ports are open.

So I was thinking to get that access through FTP. How Can I do that?

Here is professors IP: <modified>
Last edited by maksimu on Tue Sep 11, 2007 1:26 pm, edited 1 time in total.
<<

don

Administrator
Administrator

Post Tue Sep 11, 2007 1:30 pm

Re: Bypassing ftp password

The IP address you posted is public. Probably not a good idea to post that, especially if it has been purposely left open for your class to get in. So hope you don't mind that I removed it.

Speaking of which, try putting http://<removed ip address> in your browser and see what comes up. This will give you a clue on how to proceed.

Other than that, it wouldn't be fair if we got your A for you, now would it?  ;)

Don
CISSP, MCSE, CSTA, Security+ SME
<<

Negrita

Post Tue Sep 11, 2007 2:22 pm

Hmmm... telnet can be so useful when you know how to get the most out of it.
CEH, CCSA NG/AI, NNCSS, MCP, MCSA 2003

There are 10 kinds of people, those that understand binary, and those that don't.
<<

maksimu

Post Tue Sep 11, 2007 2:30 pm

Don, thank you for your reply.

Other than that, it wouldn't be fair if we got your A for you, now would it?

No, it is fair. Professor said that we can use any sources to do that. He'll give us an A if we can demonstrate it how we did it. (If you want, I can give you he's e-mail to prove it, but I think it is not necessary)

By the we on that server he's hosting he's own website, here is how you can get there:

http://<removed ip address>/~hlin/sec370.htm