.

BackTrack 2 HD Install

<<

venom77

User avatar

Hero Member
Hero Member

Posts: 1905

Joined: Mon Dec 11, 2006 3:23 pm

Post Tue Aug 21, 2007 11:12 am

BackTrack 2 HD Install

Alright, since this was brought up in another thread, and since it seems to be asked all over the place, I figured I'd post some instructions that work. I'll keep it pretty simple. I just downloaded the ISO of BT2 last night and installed it in VMware following these instructions which I got help with from muts and/or ziplock a while back.

Keep in mind, VMware deafults to SCSI drives, so if you're using VMware (and you don't do a custom creation) you should use 'sda.' If you have an IDE HD, you use 'hda.' I'm going to post one copy of the instructions, and I'll include what you need to do for dual boot (but who does that anymore anyway?).

In the instructions, I'll be using sda and installing BT as the only OS in a VM. All commands will be italics and dual-boot notices will be bold.

BackTrack 2 HD Installation Instructions:
[quote]
Step 1: Boot Backtrack

Step 2: Login (root/toor) and run startx

Step 3: open a terminal and run mount to see if your HD is currently mounted (if so, run the umount <drive> command to unmount the drive)

Dual Step: run qtparted

Dual Step: select your HD, resize current partition to make space for BT (if not already partitioned, if so skip this step)

Dual Step: File > Commit > OK

Step 4: run fdisk /dev/sda

Step 5: Create Partitions:
  • p, enter
  • n, enter
  • p, enter
  • 1, enter 2 for dual-boot
  • 'default', enter
  • +64M, enter (this is the size of your boot partition, adjust as you want
  • n, enter
  • p, enter
  • 2, enter 3 for dual-boot
  • 'default', enter
  • +512M, enter (this is your swap partition, typically double your RAM)
  • n, enter
  • p, enter
  • 3, enter 4 for dual-boot (may auto go to this one)
  • 'default', enter
  • 'default', enter (the rest is alloted to everything else

Step 6: p, enter (display partition table to make sure correct), should be:
  • sda1 = boot sda2 for dual-boot
  • sda2 = swap sda3 for dual-boot
  • sda3 = main sda4 for dual-boot

Step 7: Change sda2 to swap: sda3 for dual-boot
  • t, enter
  • 2, enter 3 for dual-boot
  • 82, enter
  • p, enter (verify changes are correct)

Step 8: Write partitions, w, enter

Step 9: Create file systems (keep in mind, you can use the ones you prefer, this is only an example):
  • mke2fs /dev/sda1, enter sda2 for dual
  • mkswap /dev/sda2, enter sda3 for dual
  • swapon /dev/sda2, enter sda3 for dual
  • mkreiserfs /dev/sda3, enter sda4 for dual

Step 10: Create and mount directories:
  • mkdir /mnt/backtrack, enter
  • mount /dev/sda3 /mnt/backtrack, enter sda4 for dual
  • mkdir /mnt/backtrack/boot, enter
  • mount /dev/sda1 /mnt/backtrack/boot, enter sda2 for dual

Step 11: Copy files over (this replaces the BT Installer; which wasn't working and why doing it manually is needed):
  • cp --preserve -R /{bin,dev,home,pentest,root,usr,etc,lib,opt,sbin,var} /mnt/backtrack, enter (this command takes some time to run)
  • mkdir /mnt/backtrack/{mnt,proc,sys,tmp}, enter
  • mount --bind /dev/ /mnt/backtrack/dev/, enter
  • mount -t proc proc /mnt/backtrack/proc/, enter
  • cp /boot/vmlinuz /mnt/backtrack/boot, enter
  • chroot /mnt/backtrack /bin/bash, enter (may receive '/dev/pts/1: no such file or directory' error, ignore it)

Step 12: Configure Lilo:
  • nano /etc/lilo.conf, enter
  • remove all [video] comments including the uncommented 773. but keep vga=791 and uncomment it
  • change "boot" = "/dev/sda"
  • change "root" = "/dev/sda3" sda4 for dual
  • comment out the "message" line near the top
  • If you are not running dual-boot, delete the Windows boot options and leave only linux
  • save and exit
  • lilo -v, enter

Step 13: Done! Exit chroot, exit terminal, logoff and reboot :)
Last edited by venom77 on Sat Aug 25, 2007 11:22 am, edited 1 time in total.
<<

oneeyedcarmen

User avatar

Full Member
Full Member

Posts: 233

Joined: Thu Jul 05, 2007 2:13 pm

Location: Baltimore, MD USA

Post Tue Aug 21, 2007 11:20 am

Re: BackTrack 2 HD Install

Fantastic!  Thanks, Bill.

-Brian
Reluctant CISSP, Certified ASS
<<

boney

User avatar

Jr. Member
Jr. Member

Posts: 61

Joined: Mon Jan 15, 2007 8:46 am

Location: India

Post Tue Aug 21, 2007 12:33 pm

Re: BackTrack 2 HD Install

Really helpful.
Thanks !
C|EH

All my life I wanted a computer...
Now I want my life back !
<<

morpheus063

User avatar

Sr. Member
Sr. Member

Posts: 393

Joined: Sun Jun 25, 2006 10:08 am

Location: Cochin - India

Post Tue Aug 21, 2007 7:25 pm

Re: BackTrack 2 HD Install

Thank you for the wonderful tutorial. I am looking for some tutorial on Installation of Wireless Drivers - my RH 7 installation and BT 2 installation does not detect my wireless card for nc6400.
Manu Zacharia
MVP (Enterprise Security), ISLA-2010 (ISC)², C|EH, C|HFI, CCNA, MCP,
Certified ISO 27001:2005 Lead Auditor

[b]There are 3 roads to spoil; women, gambling & hacking. The most pleasant with women, the quickest with gambling, but the surest is hacking - c0c0n
<<

venom77

User avatar

Hero Member
Hero Member

Posts: 1905

Joined: Mon Dec 11, 2006 3:23 pm

Post Tue Aug 21, 2007 8:08 pm

Re: BackTrack 2 HD Install

Manu Zacharia - aka - The Morpheus wrote:Thank you for the wonderful tutorial. I am looking for some tutorial on Installation of Wireless Drivers - my RH 7 installation and BT 2 installation does not detect my wireless card for nc6400.


By nc6400, I'd guess you're talking about the HP Compaq nc6400? We use HP's at work, I have an nc6220. These HP's use an intel wireless adapter that's built-in. Is that the adapter you're trying to use? I know it won't work for BT2, I'm not sure about RH (though I'd guess probably not). As far as I know, there is no work around to use that adapter. You're best off buying a separate wireless PC card. A lot of people here have recommended using the Ubiquiti card from wlanparts.com.
<<

slag

Newbie
Newbie

Posts: 5

Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2007 3:52 pm

Post Fri Aug 24, 2007 7:12 pm

Re: BackTrack 2 HD Install

I was following along great until the very end... when I typed lilo -v I get the following error:

Fatal: First sector of /dev/hda1 doesn't have a valid boot signature

I know I designated it as boot when I ran fdisk, so I'm not sure what that means.
<<

venom77

User avatar

Hero Member
Hero Member

Posts: 1905

Joined: Mon Dec 11, 2006 3:23 pm

Post Sat Aug 25, 2007 11:23 am

Re: BackTrack 2 HD Install

slag,

I saw your other post that you fixed the problem. I apologize, I forgot to add that into my instructions. That's been fixed, thanks.
<<

slag

Newbie
Newbie

Posts: 5

Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2007 3:52 pm

Post Sat Aug 25, 2007 12:41 pm

Re: BackTrack 2 HD Install

No big deal; if it isn't working, you can't really break it. I just messed around with a ton of different stuff until I found something that worked. I do still have another question though. I'm running backtrack on an HP zv6000, and the only way I can get it to boot all the way is to disable acpi by adding the acpi=off line at boot. Is there a way to set that option as part of the default so I can disable the prompt and timeout and just boot straight into backtrack?

Lesser hassle, disabling that gives me no way to check my battery level, any suggestions on a different work around or something else I could use?
<<

halcyon

Newbie
Newbie

Posts: 1

Joined: Tue Aug 28, 2007 9:12 pm

Post Tue Aug 28, 2007 9:21 pm

Re: BackTrack 2 HD Install

I'm just simply trying to install bt2 to the system disk.

I've verified lilo.conf and the /boot partition.

I've used the installer and manually copied the directories over as instructed, but no dice.

When rebooting lilo seems to hang. I just get "Loading BT....."

Nothing else.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

thx
<<

venom77

User avatar

Hero Member
Hero Member

Posts: 1905

Joined: Mon Dec 11, 2006 3:23 pm

Post Wed Aug 29, 2007 2:21 pm

Re: BackTrack 2 HD Install

slag,

I'm not too sure on that one, you may want to check the remote-exploit.org forums.

halcyon,

Did you use both the install AND manually copy over the files? If you follow the instructions I've posted, you don't use the installer. Are you sure you don't have a lilo error?

Here's my lilo file for my VM with BT2 by itself:

# LILO configuration file
# generated by 'liloconfig'

# Start LILO global section
lba32 # Allow booting past 1024th cylinder with a recent BIOS
boot = /dev/hda
# message = /boot/boot_message.txt
prompt
timeout = 1200
# Override dangerous defaults that rewrite the partition table:
change-rules
reset
# VESA framebuffer console @ 1024x768x256
vga=791

# Linux bootable partition config begins
image = /boot/vmlinuz
root = /dev/hda3
label = linux
read-only
# Linux bootable partition config ends


And here's my lilo file for dual-boot:

# Start LILO global section
lba32 # Allow booting past 1024th cylinder with a recent BIOS
boot = /dev/hda
# message = /boot/boot_message.txt
prompt
timeout = 1200
change-rules
reset
vga=791

# Linux bootable partition config begins
image = /boot/vmlinuz
root = /dev/hda4
label = Linux
read-only
# Linux bootable partition config ends

# Windows bootable partition config begins
other = /dev/hda1
label = Windows
table = /dev/hda
# Windows bootable partition config ends
<<

LSOChris

Post Wed Aug 29, 2007 3:21 pm

Re: BackTrack 2 HD Install

not to be too jerky but you could just try building your own "hack" distro on slackware/gentoo/FC/whatever.  you'll probably get more out of it than screwing with BT for days.
<<

slackram

Post Thu Apr 17, 2008 3:51 pm

Re: BackTrack 2 HD Install

Hey there, i hope you don't mind replying here after 120 days from the last one but i really need to get some help with something. I have done by letter everything explained here and when rebooting the system (without the cd) i am having an error mssg

"GRUB Loading stage1.5.

GRUB loading, please wait...
Error15
_  "

Any idea of this.?

Thanks in advance ...
and sorry for bothering you with such a problem.

Cheers :)
<<

RoleReversal

User avatar

Hero Member
Hero Member

Posts: 928

Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2008 8:54 am

Location: UK

Post Fri Apr 18, 2008 4:25 am

Re: BackTrack 2 HD Install

Slackram,

looks like a Grub issue  ;)

try booting off a live CD (like the Backtrack CD you've dropped on the harddrive) and edit the Grub configuration (Google is your friend).

Alternatively try the install again, I've come a across this before and a second install fixed it without issue, don't know why.
<<

LSOChris

Post Fri Apr 18, 2008 6:34 am

Re: BackTrack 2 HD Install

to help you help yourself.  what does google say a grub error 15 is?
<<

slackram

Post Fri Apr 25, 2008 4:53 pm

Re: BackTrack 2 HD Install

slackram wrote:Hey there, i hope you don't mind replying here after 120 days from the last one but i really need to get some help with something. I have done by letter everything explained here and when rebooting the system (without the cd) i am having an error mssg

"GRUB Loading stage1.5.

GRUB loading, please wait...
Error15
_  "

Any idea of this.?

Thanks in advance ...
and sorry for bothering you with such a problem.

Cheers :)



It has been a while since i asked help for this issue.
I have been solved that out, and that's why i want to share it with all theese who might step on the same problem.

At first i would like to say that before i asked your help i tried to gather all avalliable infos reqarding that issue. Google offered me a lot of infos but none helped.

So, after many tests, (edits of Grub Loader configuration, installation of other open source boot managers, formating & re formating) i decided to install Win XP on this computer (a laptop which was running with various Linux distroes for the last 5 years).
As we know Windows are very "friendly" with other OS we might have installed and they just want to "eat" every single availlable space point on our HDD's errasing everything else we have on board.

I just installed the xp's and then i tried once again to install the BT2 on that laptop.

It just worked out...

(I am delayed on replying once again because i was on a business task on an oil drill in Nigeria)

cheers and have fun...
Next

Return to Tutorials

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

.
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group.
Designed by ST Software