Got my first cert

<<

Saber123316

Post Wed Aug 15, 2007 11:38 pm

Got my first cert

So I took a certification course (8 months) and got my CNA certification Computer Networkk Administration from NAIT. I live in Edmonton Alberta.

I got a lot of hands on microsoft AD microsoft network infrastructure (DHCP DNS NAT) some soft skills for getting out there. Linux, (I was introduced to FreeBSD by a friend of mine and prefer that). than I got some hands on with Cisco. I must say out of that whole course I enjoyed my 3 week headache with cisco switches and routers. I really enjoyed it as a whole made some good friends and I have contacts in the industry.

Now here is the big question I have just completed 8 months of training. I have zero experience other than class as a admin where do I go from here? The whole class was picked up in a limo and taken to Dell and got a 4 hour propaganda sessions about why Dell is so great. I realize I need to start somehwere I am not expecting to be recruited into a organization and make 35 dollars a hour start. But I really do not want to answer phones and answer questions like "Why doesnt my internet work" "Why won't my computer turn on?" all in all I don't want to be a callcenter agent. the benefits are great its a awesome place to work but its not what I want to do and its not where I want to start as I don;t think I will be using my schooling to its potential. most people gave me a bad look when i said CEH or that I wanted to consult network security. The word Hacker is looked down upon thanks to the media. I just wanna know where I can go from here?

not one to brag but I got 100% on my A+ , Windows XP, Server 2003, Active Directory, and Microsoft Exchange practical exams.
<<

venom77

Post Thu Aug 16, 2007 7:33 am

Re: Got my first cert

Saber123316,

First, congratulations on earning your certificate! Great job!