CEH Test - Am I Screwed?

<<

Nixxon2000

Post Thu Jul 05, 2007 9:50 pm

CEH Test - Am I Screwed?

Ok,

So i kinda want to know how screwed I am.... I am just about to attend a CEH boot camp (global net training). I have NO certifications at all. This will be my first. I have been a Network Admin for about 3 years and been a "geek" for many more then that. So as the subject says am I screwed? Is this a total waist of time?

I will admit I am very book smart however, I learn better in a classroom setting. I have a CEH-Test Prep Book and have been reading it for about 2 months now and watched a CEH video on vtu.com.

I have never used Unix/Linux and am not a programmer. I am great with Win NT - 2k3 and Windows Security. I have also been studying law for about 2 years now so I know cyberlaw.

So, what are my chances of passing this. BTW its a CEH/CHFI test combo class.
Thanks and please be gentle.  :(
CEH
Trust No One!
<<

LegioX

Post Fri Jul 06, 2007 2:07 am

Re: CEH Test - Am I Screwed?

Hi and welcome!

You sound like the sort of person who likes to learn. These people generally do very well in whatever they set their minds too.
I think you will be fine.

Get a few more books and read as much as you can from as many different sources as you can.
Very critical for this exam is hands-on practical. Get a copy of VM Ware and set a few virtual machines with different OS's and practice what you are reading about.
I would also advise you to setup Ubuntu on one of these virtual machines. Some of the test is Linux-based and this is the easiest flavour of Linux for newbie’s. Install some apps, configure various settings and see for yourself that it's not all that hard. Try to become familiar with the different commands and options available. Then format it and set it up again!