Direction

<<

turner.rook

Post Fri Mar 22, 2013 5:30 pm

Direction

Hey guys. This is my first post and I am a newbie to the site. I am very interested in pentesting as a career and just had a few questions about certs and how to get started. I am going to sign up for HackingDojo, as that seems to be a good place to go from novice to professional. It is also within my budget, as to where Offensive Security is not and it seems like you need a bit more starting knowledge. Anyways, I heard that people can start working in the field at Nidan level, although I know this is based on the individual and not a guaranty.

So, my questions to you all, is going the HackingDojo way without any starting knowledge outside of just a+ level knowledge a good idea? Or would time be better suited doing a A+, Net+, Sec+, and then going into the more heavy security certs? I am pretty set on HackingDojo but figured I would get some input on it from people in the field or simply just know more about it than I do.

Thanks for the time :D
Last edited by turner.rook on Sat Mar 23, 2013 9:49 pm, edited 1 time in total.
<<

Triban

Post Fri Mar 22, 2013 9:49 pm

Re: Direction

Time is always best spent building a strong base.  There is more to pen testing that running a tool and getting shell.  I'm not saying that is all you will learn in these classes.  They are great classes but they assume you have some basic knowledge going in.  What sort of previous IT experience do you have?  Are you familiar with the basics of networking?  Do you know any type of coding (Python, Perl, etc...)?  Do you have a lab you can test in?  Also are you going this route because you love puzzles, analyzing data, and taking things apart to figure out how they work?  If so you are on the right track.  If you are looking to make some big bucks only, then you may not be of the right mind set.