The State of Me.

<<

SephStorm

Post Thu Apr 03, 2014 1:47 pm

The State of Me.

Well, I wanted to write this up, share whats going on with me recently and seek feedback.

As you probably are not aware, I moved into an actual security job this year, earlier in my career than I expected. I went from sys admin to intrusion analyst. I am honored to have this opportunity and I feel I am learning a bit. But there are some issues.

I don't feel that I am where I should be knowledge wise. Some of the guys I work with are 2 steps away from the GSE, or self taught experts as far as I can see, with a knowledge of programming and who knows what else.

I don't know where I should be focusing my studies. I've met the job requirements as far as certifications, so i'd like to get on the same level of knowledge as my coworkers. As noted, some have the SANS level experience, many came from other companies where they did this type of work before. I've been split all around with feeling that I should do what I can to be an well rounded network defender but unsure how to go about it. I spent all kinds of time and money getting the CCENT so I could pursue the CCNA Security but I don't think that cert will be particularly helpful in teaching me much outside of Cisco, CCP is all point and click.

So I said I would try to learn fundamentals. Right now i'm 25% into Firewall Fundamentals (http://www.amazon.com/Firewall-Fundamen ... 1587052210). So far i'm familiar with whats been covered. I do wonder if mixed with this and something else I could possibly challenge the CPPA (Formerly GCFW)