The future of the security industry

<<

madeyes

Post Fri Aug 09, 2013 2:58 am

The future of the security industry

Hello,
I apologise in advance if this post seems rather negative. I just wanted some opinions on this from people in the industry.
I find computer security very interesting mainly because I enjoy finding out how things work internally. At times I have considered a career in this area (I am currently a software developer), but I wonder about it's future.
Our goal in this industry should be to make software more secure, but if we achieve that goal will we have jobs any longer? Even now I find a lot of the security books focus on things like buffer overflows which are difficult to find in the wild now and sometimes cannot be exploited due to operating systems protection. So I think is there much point in learning about these kind of attacks? I find them interesting technically but how often will they be seen in the wild in the future?
I also find some of the articles on phrack like this interesting:
http://www.phrack.com/issues.html?issue ... 13#article
and I would be interested in opinions on this from "the other side", i.e. security professionals.
That article (and others on phrack) are quite negative about security professionals, but I haven't seen any counter arguments.
I don't mean to put down the security industry, I am just after people's opinions.
<<

UKSecurityGuy

Post Fri Aug 09, 2013 3:33 am

Re: The future of the security industry

Back in the day - we had MSDOS - which was easy to bypass security on. As technology allowed us to do new things (The internet) we had websites (with badly configured webservers). As webservers got better, we got web programming languages (which allowed command injection), and then large websites with databases behind them (which allowed SQL injection).