Where to start?

Viewing 5 reply threads
  • Author
      Crunchtime
      Participant

Hey all,

Not sure where else to put my questions…’Other’ sounds about right, sorry if it’s not. I’m currently taking a Computer Programming technology course and I’m in my first year. Both our Business and Networking instructors are covering Security in the last week and It’s given me interest in Network Security. I’ve decided to do some more research on the subject.

With a copy of Backtrack 3 in hand, I cracked my own routers WEP key last night and I’m astonished how easy it was. Having logged into the router, I’m curious now what a dedicated hacker could do. so i have a few questions:

1. Once a Black Hat gets inside a wireless router, what would they do next to compromise the systems attached to it? IP searches? Port scans? What would be the next step?

2. Is WPA more secure than WEP?

3. What are the main tools in BackTrack 3 that are the more useful ones?

4. Where can I go to do more research? I’m still very novice but do have some limited knowledge of packets, MAC addresses and Hex.

It seems very difficult to find any information on ‘What they do after they get into your system’, and understably so. In order to understand the threat, I want to see how they get inside, and how to protect against it.

Any info you can give would be much appreciated. Thanks.

Don Donzal
      Keymaster

Hey Crunchtime,

Welcome to EH-Net. Glad you found us. All it takes is that one spark, and the rest of your life is now consumed with security. Sorry… that’s just the way it goes.  😉

As for a good place to put this post, you touch on several subjects, so I guess here is as good as any.