Passed the CEHv7

Viewing 12 reply threads
  • Author
      inf3kt1d
      Participant

Not as bad as I had thought it would be. Any questions? Fire away.

impelse
      Participant

Congrats, share with us how did you study, how long, etc.

inf3kt1d
      Participant

Thanks! I had a little experience with some of the tools already from following different scenarios (Heorot.net, etc). I was able to convince the company that I work for to send me to training at Global Knowledge in June. I’m surprised that worked because I’m a systems admin and not a infosec guy. It’s amazing what you can get when you ask the right way.
      After the week-long training I did independent study with a home lab off and on for a couple of months. I read through the course material slowly one more time before scheduling.

Security is what made me interested in IT in the first place (the movie Hackers, yeah… I know…); so I’ve read about different topics here and there. I didn’t really get more serious into it until I worked under a GSE and began talking to him and his security admin.

Sorry; just realized I gave two sentences of info and a whole bunch of other stuff. Just excited I’m finally learning to crawl in this exciting new world.

Now I’m going to go and hack the gibson.

Darktaurus
      Participant

Just wanted to say congrats inf3kt1d! What’s next for you??

Darktaurus
      Participant

Also, I was just curious if the exam included more than multiple choice?  Did they add hands-on techniques now??  It says they have iLabs now so I was not sure if that meant you had to connect to virtual machines now. 

inf3kt1d
      Participant

I’m probably going to have to go the MCITP:EA route next for work reasons. After that I think I’m going to start focusing on SANS. More than likely I’ll start with 504. I may do 505 since it will be easier to sell to HR, but we’ll see.