OSWP – VPN Connection Question

Viewing 15 reply threads
  • Author
      esojzuir
      Participant

Hello Everyone!

I have a question regarding the Offensive Security Wireless Test. You are supposed to connect remotely to the test site and use a terminal to attack the routers. I’ve never done anything like this before (used to the multiple selection tests) and I wanted to see if anyone that has taken the test can clear some doubts:

When you log in do you actually open a terminal and see a BT machine and work from that or do you log in and open a putty terminal and work from that?

Any help will be appreciated

Thanks in advance!

UNIX
      Participant

You will receive an email from offsec with instructions on how to connect to the exam machine through SSH, which will be your attacking machine.

esojzuir
      Participant

Thanks for the response. So it will be correct to assume that I will connect to an instance of the BT machine with GUI and from then open a konsole and fire away???

cd1zz
      Participant

No GUI, just console sessions. You can open more than one, I think I had 4 going during my test.

TheXero
      Participant

esojzuir, I used ‘screen’ in my exam and I would recommend it 🙂

dynamik
      Participant

@TheXero wrote:

esojzuir, I used ‘screen’ in my exam and I would recommend it 🙂

Good advice; I love screen. There’s also the added benefit of being able to retrieve your session if you get disconnected.

esojzuir
      Participant

Thanks for the help everyone! How can I get screen??? Is there a link you can post???

dynamik
      Participant

I believe it’s installed by default in BT5, which is what you’ll be connecting to.

Otherwise, apt-get install screen (or whatever the equivalent is on non-Debian systems)

It’s pretty simple, but you should still experiment with it a bit in advance to get used to the key commands, etc. Just check out the man page.

BillV
      Participant