OSCP before or after CEH

Viewing 25 reply threads
  • Author
      ssherei
      Participant

hello all,

i am a newbie at pentesting and ethical hacking but i am registered for the CEH clas starting on 13-6. the thing is am really interested in taking the OSCP cert too there are 2 dates that i can register for now 30-5 and 6-6 should i go for it and start the OSCP noting that i have a CEH course on 13-6 or wait till am done with CEH, i dont think i am that experienced in linux and exploit programming but i am a real persistent, & stubborn guy, also like to learn practically and dont mind having a hard time learning i think thats the best way to learn, and i like to challenge myself to the max. so please if anyone can guide me that would be great ?? 😀

hayabusa
      Participant

Personally, if you’re already scheduled for CEH, I’d recommend doing that one, first.  Doing two simultaneously is doable, for some folks, but since you’re already booked into CEH, I’d get that ground-level knowledge in place, before the OSCP, as many things in OSCP might make more sense to you, at that point, and you can spend more of the OSCP time on the things that are newer to you, etc.

My opinion, anyway…

caissyd
      Participant

With no hesitation, do CEH first and once you are done, go for OSCP.

Anything else would be wrong because CEH is broader but not as deep as OSCP.

ssherei
      Participant

thanks allot for you responses … i’ll go for CEH first then  ;D, but my real concern is that on the OSCP site the last onlinedate is 6-6 i am worried that after that there wont be online courses for a long time, what am thinking is apply for the OSCP on 6-6 with 60 days lab access get the vids and pdfs start reading and practicing what i can; meanwhile when the CEH course start i’ll get better understanding of the modules and then after the CEH. i start using the LAB access and finish the oscp, what do u thinkis it a good or bad plan ?? ;D

morpheus063
      Participant