Network Monitor

Viewing 24 reply threads
  • Author
      nilo
      Participant

I am a network administrator. I would like to monitor all user laptops and computers connected to my network. I have installed a software to take desktop screen shots, but it is not able to install client program in vista laptop remotely without the knowledge of the user. Since I am the network administrator i have the domain admin user id and pwd, im able to install client program in some pcs on thro’ domain admin pwd. Please help me out to monitor my network.

Thanks in advance,

rattis
      Participant

Is there a reason to take screen shots of the PC?

For network monitoring, I usually use the following:
      Catci, BandwidthD and ntop for network graphs
      syslog for firewalls, switches and routers.
      tcpdump and wireshark for taffic captures.
      arpwatch and port controls to limit what can be plugged into the network
      tripwire (on the monitor box) for file integerty
      nagios

I wouldn’t mind putting a SIEM in place, or something else to look at netflow. Spiceworks looks to be pretty good too.

nilo
      Participant

I would like to get periodical screen shots.

More than that Is there a way to access the files in their systems(XP/VISTA)?

tturner
      Participant

@chrisj wrote:

Spiceworks looks to be pretty good too.

It may have changed in the last 3 years or so, but last time I looked at Spiceworks it was doing targeted marketing based on what it saw in your environment which raised a red flag with me. I don’t feel the need to share the intimate details of my internal network with a 3rd party.

rattis
      Participant

@nilo wrote:

I would like to get periodical screen shots.

More than that Is there a way to access the files in their systems(XP/VISTA)?

Why do you need to? Why do you need screen shots. That sounds more like abusing being an admin than actual administration to me. (Hint in 14 years I’ve never needed screens shots).