network adapter for packet injection

Viewing 22 reply threads
  • Author
      exeglitch
      Participant

Hello everyone, I’m looking at buying a new laptop and I’m hoping to get a network adapter were it’s possible to do packet injection. The problem is that this feature is rarely, if ever, written in the laptop specification. I know I could buy an external network adapter but I’d rather have a working on directly in the laptop. Can you guys guide me where I can find more information ?

Thank you

KrisTeason
      Participant

Hello exeglitch,

I would highly recommend the Alfa AWUS036H card. I have been using it for a couple years now and it’s great. It is also one of the cards the Offensive Security WiFu recommends.

Anonymous
      Participant

I agree I have that card and used it for OSWP and works fine.

lorddicranius
      Participant

Sometimes a laptop listing will show the wireless card installed in the laptop.  If not, you’ll need to use your search engine of choice to find the wireless card, chipset, and driver used in a potential laptop you find.  After that, you can use the link below to determine the chipset/driver’s capabilities (e.g. monitor, injection):

http://www.aircrack-ng.org/doku.php?id=compatibility_drivers&DokuWiki=77cc9f280179327f574dd55342e13fc2#compatibility

I know you said you’d rather have an internal card with the capabilities, but I’d reconsider xXxKrisxXx and Jamie.R’s recommendations on using an Alfa card.  It’s rather easy to setup using BackTrack.  I haven’t used the card outside of BackTrack though, so I can’t speak to that.

exeglitch
      Participant

Thank you all for your prompt responses, I’ll probably go with this Alfa card. I presume it will also work with my workstation, which is always a plus. The downside is that it’s a little cumbersome if I carry it around with my laptop but I guess I can live with it.

Thank you =)

Anonymous
      Participant