Looking for opinions about Hackers

This topic contains 5 replies, has 5 voices, and was last updated by  jmicgas 4 years, 6 months ago.

• Author
     uBlast 
    Participant

Hello. Im a college student and I´m starting to write an article about the Hackers and my main objective is know more about the Hacker as person. The behaviour, interests, motivation, what´s the feelings on being a hacker… In other words, not about the technical point of view. Sorry for the english, it´s not my native language. I would really appreciate any opinion you guys could provide.

impelse 
    Participant

I would say begin with the type of hackers, white hat, black, grays, suicide, etc, etc. With that you will set the scope of your research.

From there you begin with the ethic then move on to knowledge, personal gain, hobbies, age, etc, etc.

It just an idea.

hayabusa 
    Participant

For me, a hacker can be ANYONE who wants something to behave differently than it was intended to. Whether that be a creative child, who wants to ‘mod’ his bike with some neat new handlebar spinners, or a woodworker, who wants to modify a tool to do something a bit different. Hacking is a mentality of ‘creativity’, and can be applied to far more than the IT space.

What drew me into hacking (the IT side) was bits of all of the above, growing up, coupled with working on the old Rainbow Magazine (Tandy / RadioShack stuff / TRS-80) programs – typing them in, seeing they didn’t work, as printed, so I’d have to find / fix / modify the code, etc. From there it grew into a deep dive into how PC’s worked, and how to make them do MORE than they were supposed to do (modding, upgrading, etc.) My love for hacking / pentesting just grew out from there.

If you have specific other questions you’d like answered, or want to go deeper on the subject, you’re in the right place, so ask away!

uBlast 
    Participant