Infosec career

This topic contains 1 reply, has 2 voices, and was last updated by  Don Donzal 3 months ago.

• Author
     b34zyb33 
    Participant

Hi all

I’m after a little advice.

I work in IT, done first and second line support in the past. The last 8 years I have been managing the IT business requirements (non technical for the most part) for a small public sector business (100 users).
    My role has just been modified as there is the requirement for internal IT security knowledge. This is to work alongside our external IT support contract that we have who provide our IT security.

I have been interested in infosec for some time, so this is great news for me. I have no specific area of interest, just in general. I find it interesting and am always reading up on current events and lot’s of stuff I just don’t understand.

Due to the IT security requirement my company have they are willing to put me on a training course. They have already put me through the CISMP, which i have passed. Now i am thinking I would like something a little more hands on, and as they are likely only going to pay for one course per year I want to make the most of the training.

I am thinking the Certified Ethical Hacker training would be really good and teach me loads. I’m not sure that with my experience I could pass the exam, but I think the knowledge I would gain would be invaluable to many areas of IT Security.

Do you agree that someone with little technical knowledge (it has been a few years!) could take the CEH and not get lost before they even start?
    Are there other recommendations for a better placed course?

Looking forward to seeing your replies and sorry for the long winded post.

Don Donzal 
    Keymaster

Congrats on jumping into the security side of the house, although I’m sure you know that a lot of what you’re already doing has at least some security component to it.

Couple things…