How to become a good hacker?

Viewing 15 reply threads
  • Author
      Ghost121
      Participant

I am a newbie and have very little knowledge about ethical hacking. what books would u suggest to start?
      And any other details on ethical hacking and CEH will be highly entertained.
      Also is setting up of a lab necessary?
      Thank u

unicityd
      Participant
      Ghost121
      Participant

tnx unicityd  🙂 that cleared most of my doubts. I surely love this site.

MaXe
      Participant

How to become a good hacker:
      Step 1) Realize that CEH won’t teach you anything practical in the world of good hackers.
      Step 2) Read lots of books from e.g. Syngress, but also the books such as Hacking Exposed and The Web Application / Database / Hacker’s Handbook (And the Shellcoders Handbook) are basically some of the best books on the market.
      Step 3) Learn to write a few scripting languages, start with a simple one such as PHP or Python.
      Step 4) Research what you don’t know, by using sites like this  ;D (Search it for information, as your question has at least been asked 5-10 times this year I think, and I’ve even responded to most of them xD )

lynoharvey
      Participant

Hi,

I’ve found a site recently where the author has conducted some research with Information Security professionals concerning what they think is important for people to learn when trying to break into the industry.

http://www.digininja.org/projects_general.php

On the above page there are a series of articles called “Breaking into Security”.
        I think they give some interesting information for newcomers about what certificates are important and what programming languages to learn –also a range of other issues.
      I personally think it is worth a read.

Good luck with your journey

rattis
      Participant

Krebs on Security has a series on it too. haven’t had time to read it yet.

http://krebsonsecurity.com/2012/06/how-to-break-into-security-ptacek-edition/