Hacking Course – Need Laptop

Viewing 7 reply threads
  • Author
      Tinfoilcat
      Participant

Hello everyone, this is my first post on the forums.

I am starting an Ethical hacking course within the next few months and I have been instructed to buy a new laptop capable of running BT5 R2 to the limit. I am very new to this field of work, and I need help trying to decide what to buy.

I have around 3000 euros to spend.
      This laptop needs to be capable of everything I am asked to do.
      It has to last me for the next 4 years.

I was looking towards the lenovo W line. Opinions?
      Oh and btw, I have a thing about Chiclet keyboards…hate them.
      But it appears this is the way the manufacturers want to take it 🙁

rattis
      Participant

may or may not be what is needed, but I would go look at what SANS lists as recomendations for their classes and use that as a base line.

Personally, I would get something with the largest processor and 16gig of memory, with a 15 to 17 inch screen, that I could afford.

Tinfoilcat
      Participant

I am considering the Lenovo W530 with:

Intel Core i7-3920XM Processor Extreme Edition (8M Cache, up to 3.80 GHz)

NVIDIA Quadro K2000M Graphics with 2GB DDR3 Memory

32 GB DDR3 – 1600MHz (4 DIMM)

Its come out at roughly £3500.

Although the keyboard is Chiclet, I have heard the rumour that Lenovo will offer the old keyboard as an option around august 2012. I would consider waiting for this.

This is a good investment right? It’s going to last for 4 years? 😀

DragonGorge
      Participant

I bought a Lenovo Ideapad last year. At first I hated the chicklet keyboard and it’s still terrible for gaming, but I eventually got used to it. It’s a decent computer and pretty powerful for the price. Good enough to run all my programs (VMWare, Backtrack, et al).

Beware though – it runs hot (fry an egg hot) if you’re playing a game.

cyber.spirit
      Participant