Getting Started – How to Get Into Hacking (as a hobby).

Viewing 7 reply threads
  • Author
      killerbadger1994
      Participant

I recently talked to a man who is in fact a professional hacker (though he had a job title like network annalist, or network evaluator, or something).  I asked him how to get into hacking, and he told me that he was self taught on a lot of stuff.  He recommended this website to find resources to get started, but i really just don’t know where to start.  Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Xen
      Participant

How about you start with this thread?
      http://www.ethicalhacker.net/component/option,com_smf/Itemid,54/topic,2262.0/

A little information about your computer background would be conducive to pointing you in right direction.

Ignatius
      Participant

I’m far from an expert, but it’s important to know first how computers and networks work.  What are the components of the operating system and how do they interact?  How is information transferred normally from Host A to Host B along a network cable or through the air?

When you’re happy understanding how things work normally, it’s possible to work out how things can go wrong (or can be exploited) to allow someone (whether a pen tester or malicious hacker) to gain access.

Apologies if you are well informed and have lots of certs and practical experience but you didn’t give any indication of your background.

killerbadger1994
      Participant

I have very little experience with computers- or rather, i am alright at using a computer, and figuring things out, but i do not know the absolute basics of why stuff works, just that I can make it work (if that makes sense).

Ignatius
      Participant