final project + advises

Viewing 1 reply thread
  • Author
      it-caps
      Participant

Hello everybody :

I’m a student in the 3rd year of a bachelor degree called: professional engineering degree in system , networks, security , in the class we just began the modules of cybersecurity and ehtical hacking , until now we re studying comptia security + , then later we will study others subjects related to the same topics .

as a student i have knowleges in different subjects :programming languages(java , python ,c , javascript) , mark up languages(html , css ) ,microsoft sql server , networking , operating systems (linux (redhat , ubuntu) , windows server ) .

as a person exploring the cybersecurity and ethical hacking fields, i want to know what are the bests fields of cybersecurity and ethical hacking? what are the best way to study penetration testing ?and finally for my final degree project , i want to know if is it possible to combine fortigate(forttinet) and penetration testing in the same project ?

kind regards

• This topic was modified 3 weeks, 4 days ago by it-caps.
      Don Donzal
      Keymaster

There’s a lot in this post, so I’ll just try to jump right in.

First thought that came to mind is that you have a good foundation of knowledge. You’re covering all of the bases. So the next step is to get more experience in each. Start with a home lab. Setting up all of these different technologies gives you practical hands-on experience. So solidify it more.

Next would be to get the knowledge you need in cyber security. Not sure in which direction you plan to go, but a good start would be the free PTS course you received when you registered here on EH-Net. Then upgrade from the Barebone Edition to Elite for a very inexpensive practical, hands-on course AND cert.