Distro

Viewing 33 reply threads
  • Author
      Yet
      Participant

Hello, i am still new to Linux, but i am just curious which Distro do you prefer?

jason
      Participant

Ubuntu running gnome classic for daily use, Backtrack for security tools

Yet
      Participant

Well i am using Fedora but i am thinking of changing it .

@jason wrote:

Ubuntu running gnome classic for daily use, Backtrack for security tools

jason
      Participant

Many of the distros that are out there are forks of either redhat (fedora, cent, etc..) or of Debian (ubuntu, mint, oracle, etc…) I tend to prefer the debian route myself, largely because I’ve spent more time with it, however, you’ll find redhat or derivatives in business use more often because you can find support more easily.

m0wgli
      Participant

I prefer Ubuntu for normal day to day use personally (although I do also use Fedora), and Backtrack for security tools.

@Yet wrote:

What’s your motivation for learning Linux, and why are you thinking of changing Fedora?

Yet
      Participant

Well i am planing of learning pentest but i just keep having problem with Fedora, maybe i can go with Arch Linux or Puppy .

@m0wgli wrote:

I prefer Ubuntu for normal day to day use personally (although I do also use Fedora), and Backtrack for security tools.

@Yet wrote:

What’s your motivation for learning Linux, and why are you thinking of changing Fedora?

dynamik
      Participant

I’m a fan of Mint.

Yet
      Participant

It seem Mint also have Debian Edition also .

@ajohnson wrote:

I’m a fan of Mint.

jason
      Participant

I tried mint briefly. It was just different enough to irritate me into going back to ubuntu.

Yet
      Participant

Hmm it seem a lot of people like Ubuntu, people don’t talk much about Arch .

jason
      Participant