Conversion from IT to security

This topic contains 7 replies, has 6 voices, and was last updated by  m0wgli 4 years, 8 months ago.

• Author
     le special 
    Participant

Hi,

even though I graduated (Master) in general IT with a specialization in IT security, I then moved on to IT support in finance for a few years. That means dealing with several technologies, doing a bit of everything (low-level to app level investigations), without being an expert in any of that.

I’m considering moving on to IT security and was considering taking on the CEH certification as a way to ease my transition.

I’m wondering whether my experience ticks the box of what the CEH pre-requisites, as it’s definitely IT but not IT security (even though we once in a while have to deal with security problems).

I also saw the OSCP but i think this requires too much work right now as i have some reasonable theoretical knowledge but never really practiced apart from in lab conditions “for the fun” (so for instance i once did a few buffer overflow but with randomization turned off ;D just to check by myself how it worked ). In that regard CEH looks a bit easier to me as a quick way to reorientate my career.

Any advice is welcome !

Thanks
    Matt

SephStorm 
    Participant

Hi, Welcome to EH.net.

CEH can be a good introduction to ethical hacking in general. Honestly ECC doesn’t really care what you have done as long as someone will signoff on the form and they get your money. 🙂 If you have applied patches you have security experience as far as most companies are concerned.

Once you attain it you should check at your company and see if you can assist the security team in any way it will likely be defensive in nature at first. Good Luck.

xMalachi 
    Participant

I have to echo the statements of SephStorm, he is spot on here.