Capture The Flag in High Schools

Viewing 23 reply threads
  • Author
      caissyd
      Participant

Hey,

I would really like to start a competition in the high schools around where I live. I have been a teacher years ago and I also did some volunteer work in on high school, etc.

I think teenagers interested in InfoSec are often left learning tools by themselves and if not guided properly, can start hacking networks everywhere without permissions…

Finally, I am a French Canadian and there is close to no resource in French in this field.

So, I would like to create some kind of a club among different high schools in my city where we could meet once a month or something like that and organize a CTF among them. I really, really want to focus on the legal aspect of it. I want them to be White Hats, not the opposite…

Do you guys think it would be a good idea? Have anyone done that before?

Thanks for your advice!

hayabusa
      Participant

I think it’s a very interesting idea.  I’d considered something similar around here at one point, and had even thought of using it to prep some of the local ‘infosec-interested’ students towards the US Cyber Security challenge, etc.  I think giving them something to start with would be an excellent thing to help them decide if they wanted to truly stick with this field, or move to something else.  It would also encourage them to play / practice on legitimate servers and lab machines, and not ones that they shouldn’t be touching. 

In any event, I think it’d be a good initiative.  I also think you could combine it into a local program, with meetings / presentations on internet safety for kids / parents, etc, and really grow the club into something worthwhile.

Please continue to provide feedback as you move forward (assuming you do) and I’d do the same.

caissyd
      Participant

Thanks Hayabusa,

I will keep you posted for sure. Meanwhile, I am just starting…

Xen
      Participant