[Article]-Cool and Illegal Wireless Hotspot Hacks

Viewing 7 reply threads
  • Author
      Don Donzal
      Keymaster

Well, it’s been a long time coming, but our wireless guru, Dan Hoffman, is back on the saddle. And boy was it worth the wait. This article is a long one, but the word ‘Cool’ in the title is absolutely justified.

So enjoy Cool and Illegal Wireless Hotspot Hacks, and be sure to add your thoughts below.

Don

• This topic was modified 2 years, 11 months ago by Don Donzal.
      nusa dusa
      Participant

Hi

I am a newbie in ethical hacking. I have good understanding of networks sysytems, web applications penetration testing but exploiting us a new era for me.

I am administering a couple of LAN s connected to each other through switches and routers. I had been using windows servers for most of the administering part, bur now i own a new macbook and i am willing to learn more about unix environments.

I ve read your article and i am amazed how easy it is to exploit a windows system. Although it seems easy i could not manage to use the exploit mentioned in your artile.

The exploit you use is “ie_createtextrange” . This exploit is available in .pm ( perl module ) format . In metasploit exploit pages they say all i have to do is to copy this exploit into exploit directory. But all the other exploits ( default ones coming with installation of alpha 3) are in .rb ( ruby ? ) format.

So when i type use ie_createtextrange in msfconsole i get an error. Do i have to compile .pm into .rb , if so how ?

I am sorry if this seems to be a very stupid question but i am really new to perl, ruby, unix darwin enviroments.

Thanks in advance for your response.

Anonymous
      Participant

that exploit is for MSF 2.x  you need to install that if you want to run the exploit, i dont know if it has been ported to MSF 3 yet.

nusa dusa
      Participant

Yes but not just that xploit is in .pm format, all others on the site are same .pm not .rb ???

Anonymous