Another "where do I start?" thread

Viewing 3 reply threads
  • Author
      TTewell
      Participant

I was looking for some good hacking books to get started with.  My Linux Shell commands are sub-par and I have no programming background but I do have a solid grasp of security concepts.  What books should I start with??  Thanks.

Don Donzal
      Keymaster

Hey TTewell,

Welcome to EH-Net.

As for where to start, there are several good threads pinned at the top of the Network Pen Testing Board.

As for book recommendations for your thoughts below, try:

Linux Command Line and Shell Scripting Bible

As for programming, I just found a great new book. I haven’t read it yet, but I absolutely love the concept. It’s written by Warren Sande, an Electronic Systems Engineer who wanted to teach his son to program. He uses Python and actually lists his son as a co-author. I’m about to post a new thread with info on it. In the meantime…

Hello World!
      Computer Programming for Kids and Other Beginners[/url:2mdr34cx]

Hope this helps,
      Don

TTewell
      Participant

Thank you for the suggestions Don!  I’ll check them out.  Do you have any suggestions for an introductory hacking book such as Hacking for Dummies?  I was going to check that out but it came out in ’06 so it seems a bit dated.

Don Donzal
      Keymaster

Maybe if it was cutting-edge stuff that you needed to find, then I would say you’re correct. But for a intro book on hacking, 2.5 years old is not that bad at all. And for approx. $13 – 16 on Amazon, you can’t go wrong.