Image
 
linkedin_logo.png rss_logo.jpg
twitter_logo.png youtube_logo.jpg
Latest Additions
 
EH-Net Login
Welcome Guest.






Lost Password?
No account yet? Register
Who's Online
We have 42 guests and 2 members online
 
Advertisement

You are here: Home arrow Ethical Hacking Discussions and Related Certificationsarrow Cyber Warfarearrow Not sure if someone is phishing...
EH-Net
May 22, 2013, 04:09:54 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Go back to The Ethical Hacker Network Online Magazine Home Page
 
   Home   Help Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Not sure if someone is phishing...  (Read 2800 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
BASHful
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 4


View Profile
« on: March 01, 2012, 09:57:48 AM »

Sorry if this is the wrong place to ask this...

Months ago, I emailed a friend at someonesname@gmail.com (example address) and apparently my friend doesn't own that address because he told me it was slightly different than the one I sent the email to. Then yesterday I got a reply from what seemed to be that email, but it was actually some.ones.name@gmail.com. So they replied to my email but from a similar looking address. I am just wondering how they could have gotten my email message if I sent it to a different address. I knew by their reply that they got my email message since they were talking about it specifically. The reply itself sounds fishy too: "Heyla,
     I lost track of my email for a few months.  Forgive me that I'm not sure who you are.  I've been going through a lot of medical stuff lately.  In a later email from you, you sent a song.  I've downloaded it to listen to.  I hope you are well."


Clearly this is someone phishing. And if I get a request for money wired to Nigeria, I will know for sure it's bs, but until then I am just trying to figure out how they could have gotten my message.
« Last Edit: March 01, 2012, 09:59:41 AM by BASHful » Logged
hayabusa
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1632



View Profile
« Reply #1 on: March 01, 2012, 10:05:34 AM »

They might've had forwarding for their email from one gmail account to another.
Logged

~ hayabusa ~ 

"All men can see these tactics whereby I conquer, but what none can see is the strategy out of which victory is evolved." - Sun Tzu, 'The Art of War'


OSCE, OSCP , GPEN, C|EH
ziggy_567
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 361


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: March 01, 2012, 12:46:39 PM »

That's a feature in Gmail. They ignore '.' in a username as well as capitalization, so s.o.m.e.o.n.e@gmail.com is the exact same as some.one@gmail.com and someone@gmail.com.

You can read more at:

http://support.google.com/mail/bin/answer.py?hl=en&ctx=mail&answer=10313#
Logged

--
Ziggy


eCPPT - GSEC - GCIH - GCUX - RHCE - SCSecA - Security+ - Network+
hayabusa
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1632



View Profile
« Reply #3 on: March 01, 2012, 01:10:46 PM »

Thanks, never knew that.  Smiley  I just assumed they were forwarding...
Logged

~ hayabusa ~ 

"All men can see these tactics whereby I conquer, but what none can see is the strategy out of which victory is evolved." - Sun Tzu, 'The Art of War'


OSCE, OSCP , GPEN, C|EH
ziggy_567
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 361


View Profile
« Reply #4 on: March 01, 2012, 03:45:54 PM »

Glad to be of service.... Grin
Logged

--
Ziggy


eCPPT - GSEC - GCIH - GCUX - RHCE - SCSecA - Security+ - Network+
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.18 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines
Joomla Bridge by JoomlaHacks.com
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.074 seconds with 22 queries.
 
Exclusive Deal

sansfire13_245x90_cw90.jpg
SANSFIRE 2013
June 15 - 22

5% Off w/ Code: EHN_5

SANS Deals 4 EH-Netters
5% OFF Any SANS Course in Any Format!
Coupon Code: EHN_5 Including SANS Rocky Mountain 2013 & SANS Boston 2013
Polls
Compared to this year, 2013 will be:
 
Recent Forum Topics
EH-Net News Feeds
Latest Additions
 
         
Advertisement

© 2013 The Ethical Hacker Network
Joomla! is Free Software released under the GNU/GPL License.