Image
 
linkedin_logo.png rss_logo.jpg
twitter_logo.png youtube_logo.jpg
Latest Additions
 
EH-Net Login
Welcome Guest.






Lost Password?
No account yet? Register
Who's Online
We have 24 guests and 1 member online
 
Free Business and Tech Magazines and eBooks

You are here: Home arrow Ethical Hacking Discussions and Related Certificationsarrow Malwarearrow Exchange intrusion
EH-Net
May 21, 2013, 08:25:25 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Go back to The Ethical Hacker Network Online Magazine Home Page
 
   Home   Help Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Exchange intrusion  (Read 5421 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
tomovboyan
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1


View Profile
« on: October 15, 2009, 04:10:42 AM »

Hello,
I'm new in this forum, so i'm sorry if I didn't post my topic right.

So here is the thing. I'm using an Exchange Mail server 2007 with around 100 accounts. Yesterday a couple of accounts recieve the same message from a different internal user, THAT DOES NOT EXIST, telling them to download a patch file from this site:

http://updates.COMPANYNAME.com.secure.cert-services.com/mail/id=71408788-USERMAIL@COMPANYNAME.com-patch04536.aspx

where the COMPANYNAME is my Domain!!!

I checked the log file of the Exchange server, but there is nothing about threat.

Please Help. How the .... is this thing manage to enter? How can I prevent for future attacks? Huh Huh
Logged
Ketchup
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1021



View Profile
« Reply #1 on: October 15, 2009, 05:33:19 AM »

Welcome to the forums. 

It is likely that the message received was forged to look like it was an internal message.   Check the headers of the message, does it appear to actually come from the inside, or is there a history of traveling through various SMTP hops in the headers? 

It is is also likely that the link provided in the email, does not actually go to any resource internal to your domain.  It looks like a phishing email and a dangerous one. 

If this email did not originate from the inside, as I suspect, you can invest in a solid Anti-Spam product that should stop mail with forged headers from coming through.   

Good luck!
Logged

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Ketchup
BillV
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1892


View Profile WWW
« Reply #2 on: October 15, 2009, 05:53:22 AM »

Agree with ketchup... implement some spam-blocking software and, or if you already have some in place, set it to deny inbound email from your domain name. All of your internal->internal email should remain within your internal environment, there should never be a point where email "from" your domain is coming in from the outside (unless of course you were outsourcing email services).
Logged
Dengar13
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 380



View Profile
« Reply #3 on: October 15, 2009, 07:31:50 AM »

And be sure to send an email to all of your users indicating that they should not follow the link and educate them that it was a phishing attack.  All it takes is for one user to fall victim...

Welcome to the forum by the way.
Logged

A+, Net+, MCP, CEH
MCSE: Security/Messaging
MCSA: Security/Messaging
Former U.S. Marine and damn proud of it!
impelse
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 565


View Profile WWW
« Reply #4 on: October 15, 2009, 08:38:20 AM »

Jajajajaajaj, I sent an email to my user, PLEASE DO NOT CLICK THE LINK, and some of them they did, so we have to sent a second email with more information.

Yep, we are getting those kind of emails
Logged

CCNA, Security+, 70-290, 70-291
CCNA Security
Taking Hackingdojo training

Website: http://blog.thehost1.com/
timmedin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 469



View Profile WWW
« Reply #5 on: October 17, 2009, 11:58:19 AM »

As an aside...

I know a guy whose company did a phishing exercise. The goal was to see how many people clicked on the link and then educate everyone about phishing.

After the exercise they sent a follow up email telling users what to look for and that they should not have clicked the link in the original email. The original email was at the bottom of the new email.

The result? More people clicked on the at the bottom of the second email than the original email.

There is no patch for...
Logged

twitter.com/timmedin | http://blog.securitywhole.com
impelse
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 565


View Profile WWW
« Reply #6 on: October 17, 2009, 12:03:49 PM »

I read in Eweek magazine about a web site that offers a service how to sent phising email and report you how many user click in the link and how many time and give you a grade about that person, you can beging to re-train the users, but some of them they do not want to be carefull
Logged

CCNA, Security+, 70-290, 70-291
CCNA Security
Taking Hackingdojo training

Website: http://blog.thehost1.com/
don
Editor-In-Chief
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 4165


Editor-In-Chief


View Profile WWW
« Reply #7 on: October 18, 2009, 01:27:19 AM »

Funny you should mention it, because I recently commented on the eWeek article in this thread by our friends who are responsible for SocialPET:

http://www.ethicalhacker.net/component/option,com_smf/Itemid,54/topic,4659.msg23036/

Good stuff by good people!

Don
Logged

CISSP, MCSE, CSTA, Security+ SME
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.18 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines
Joomla Bridge by JoomlaHacks.com
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.063 seconds with 23 queries.
 
Exclusive Deal

sansfire13_245x90_cw90.jpg
SANSFIRE 2013
June 15 - 22

5% Off w/ Code: EHN_5

SANS Deals 4 EH-Netters
5% OFF Any SANS Course in Any Format!
Coupon Code: EHN_5 Including SANS Rocky Mountain 2013 & SANS Boston 2013
Polls
Compared to this year, 2013 will be:
 
Recent Forum Topics
EH-Net News Feeds
Latest Additions
 
         
Advertisement

© 2013 The Ethical Hacker Network
Joomla! is Free Software released under the GNU/GPL License.